Shweyga Mullah, Tormented Nanny in Gaddafi Regime

A nanny who worked for one of Colonel Moammar Gaddafi’s sons has told how boiling hot water was poured over her head after she refused to beat his daughter. Shweyga Mullah’s entire body is covered in weeping scabs after she was allegedly burned by Hannibal Gaddafi’s wife, Aline Skaf.

She was found abandoned in a room at one of the family’s luxury seaside villas in western Tripoli. Unable to go to the doctor, the Ethiopian sat weak on a mattress on the floor, as she calmly told her story to CNN.

Mullah, 30, came from her home country to work as a nanny for the couple’s young daughter and son a year ago. “She took me to a bathroom. She tied my hands behind my back, and tied my feet. She taped my mouth, and she started pouring the boiling water on my head. There were maggots coming out of my head, because she had hidden me, and no one had seen me.”

Her chest, torso and legs are all mottled with scars — some old, some still red, raw and weeping. As she spoke, clear liquid oozed from one nasty open wound on her head. A guard eventually took to a hospital, where she received some treatment but when Aline found out, he was threatened with imprisonment if he dared to help her again.

“When she did all this to me, for three days, she wouldn’t let me sleep,” Ethiopian Mullah said. “I stood outside in the cold, with no food. She would say to staff, ‘If anyone gives her food, I’ll do the same to you.’ I had no water. Nothing.” Mullah was burned twice, the latest incident three months ago.

She wants to go to the hospital but is unable to afford to do so as the Gaddafis did no give her ‘one penny’ in the year she worked for them. A colleague, who did not want to give his name, also said he had been regularly beaten and slashed with knives. He verified Mullah’s horrific story.

Leave a Reply

