Parent connect

Don't embarass your children in front of public (I mean social media)

Do a parent have to connect with the children? Even in social network websites? Some people indeed choose not to talk often about their romantic partners or sweet children. They believ, the important relationships are not and not for show.
In addition to what is so eloquently said here, I think it’s important to examine why so many parents feel the need to do parent publicly. Is it to prove themselves? To save the face? To feel validated? To make a statement to others? None of these puts our real focus on showing up in our children’s lives (both for their struggles and their wins).

Interestingly, many parents I know will recoil at the public humiliation talked about here but don’t see the ways they themselves overshow the parenting, not examining what drives their motivation to invite the whole world into their private lives.

My questions to myself for several years have been “Why am I sharing this? Does this honor my son? Does this hold sacred our own relationship? Or is this done for my own ego’s satisfaction?”

You might have noticed that I don’t share a lot anymore. Because the challenges deserve to be honored privately, and the beautiful moments deserve to be treated with sacredness. Unless I have her permission to share, and I know my sharing is not being done from my own ego that, let’s face it, isn’t often I simply don’t share it.

My opinion is clear, parenting is a relationship, not a show to put on for others.

Leave a Reply

